Photosophically

taking it one day at a time

Peach Upside Down Cake

Leave a comment

image

It’s an hour before time to break fast, and I figured I’d try out an application I just installed onto my phone. The app is Catch Notes and rather than type out nonsense as I am typically wont to do when trying out writing-oriented apps, I decided to do something useful instead: write out a recipe I made for tonight’s dessert.

We have too many peaches sitting on our kitchen counter, so instead of letting them go to waste, I altered my Pineapple Upside Down Cake to use the peaches instead.

I have no idea how the cake turned out, but I sure enjoyed writing out the recipe! I’ll trust that the cake is as good as it usually is.

Recipe on the flip side.

Peach Upside Down Cake

3.5 oz brown sugar
8 oz sliced peaches
3 eggs, separated
1 cup sugar, divided
4.5 oz flour (1 cup)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup milk

Melt butter, add brown sugar, and stir till melted and mixture becomes liquid. Pour into cast iron skillet.
Arrange sliced peaches over sugar and leave skillet over a very low flame while making the cake.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Beat yolks with 4 oz sugar till thick and lemon colored.
Sift together flour , baking powder and salt.
Beat egg whites with remaining sugar.
Fold flour mixture into yolks alternately with milk,then fold in egg whites.
Pour batter over peaches and sugar .
Bake @ 350 for 40-45 min.
Invert onto serving platter immediately after removal from oven.

Sent from Catch Notes for Android
https://catch.com

Author: F.Emme

Professional web developer. Amateur grammarian. Professionally amateur seamstress. Amateurishly professional baker. I believe that the mundane can be magnificent if you can laugh at it every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

