Photosophically

taking it one day at a time

Daring to be…ridiculous?

10 Comments

Candied Orange and Lemon Peel

Blog-checking lines: The December 2012 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by the talented Marcellina of Marcellina in Cucina. Marcellina challenged us to create our own custom Panettone, a traditional Italian holiday bread!

It’s been a while since I last took up a Daring Bakers’ challenge–last time being in January…so a fitting way to end the year was to take up the final challenge for 2012. Making Panettone is far more interesting to me than buying it, so to say that I was pleased with this challenge would be an understatement.

Since I don’t have ready access to citron peel or golden sultanas (not because I’m completely cut off from civilization, but because I don’t want to drive in snow!), I candied the orange and lemon peels and used dried cranberries in place of sultanas.

Making Panettone

About a month ago, I saw something on Pinterest (inspiration heaven) about panettone muffins, but sadly the pinned item did not have a recipe attached. I figured the best way to go about fulfilling this dream of mine would be to use old canned goods tins…but I don’t have any. So I did this:

Panettone Muffins

I’d let that image sink in for a bit if I were you. Basically, I made collars out of parchment paper and filled them into cupcake pans…

Panettone Muffins

Here they are all filled up…

And they allll felll downnnn

…and here they are all fallen down…Pretty sight, huh? I bet you all saw that coming.

Heart of Panettone

But hey, they taste good. As well it should given that they have a half ounce of butter per muffin. (We’re calling Mad Hatter Panettones, by the way, since they are all topply like Mad Hatter Cakes.)

Panettone Muffins

So, now, I’m obviously going to be saving up empty tins of coconut milk, condensed milk, evaporated milk…etc!

Author: F.Emme

Professional web developer. Amateur grammarian. Professionally amateur seamstress. Amateurishly professional baker. I believe that the mundane can be magnificent if you can laugh at it every once in a while.

10 thoughts on “Daring to be…ridiculous?

  1. The mini panettone are cute! I’m sure they tasted great aswell, happy holidays!

  2. Your panettoncini look gorgeous! Thanks for taking up the challenge!

  3. They are so cute and very delicious!

  4. I love that picture of the cranberries and candied citrus about to be rolled in the dough! Gorgeous!

  5. I should have gone the smaller route… your’s looks adorable!

  6. In theory, panettone muffins are a great idea – too bad that it didn’t work so well in reality! Very Daring of you to try. But you’re right, with that much butter, you can’t go wrong! I want to make mini panettone next year, so I’ll be saving cans too 😉

  7. Oh my gosh, that was actually a really clever idea for the panettone muffins! I bet they were super tasty. I love the candied citrus peels and cranberries, too. And your photography is really stunning. Great work.

  8. They are adorable and I like that they tip around. You got some amazing rise out of those breads!

  9. Love it! I made panettone muffins too, but without attempting the individual collars – yours definitely have a little more class than mine! Such a fun interpretation of the challenge 🙂

  10. T’was quite good. And it looked different from any other, different is good! Be unique! 🙂

Leave a Reply

